+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Loss of signal?

  1. #1

    Lightbulb Loss of signal?

    Hi all.
    My DS3 2011 appears to have lost its gps signal.
    Sat nav cannot calculate route, either searches for an age or just shows little red triangle without loading any map etc and traffic announcements can't find location.
    Anyone had this or know how to rectify?
    Thanks in advance

    Ps think it's the myway system.

  2. #2
    Ultra Prestige Member cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone has a reputation beyond repute cyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Heidelberg, Germany
    DS3 model
    THP SportChic that's a DSport to you
    Posts
    5,827

    Default

    pull out of the underground car park?

    or could check the connections on the antenna and on the back of the radio. Would also try disconnecting the cars battery for a short time to see if the system will reset.
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclone View Post
    It is in the handbook. Satisfied.
    Quote Originally Posted by Broda View Post
    I would rather teabag a bear trap

  3. #3
    Ultra Prestige Member Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet has a reputation beyond repute Bigfeet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Scotland
    DS3 model
    T-Spark Spider
    Posts
    8,144

    Default

    Sounds daft but you have checked to see if your aerial is on the car still?

    Most likely cause is a signal loss between the unit and the aerial, it might be worth popping the unit out of the dash to check the cable connections at the back.
    ...I should never have doubted the Lord of Bacon!!
    Bigfeet's File Repository
    The DS3Club Bacon Appreciation Society

  4. #4
    Ultra Prestige Member liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby has a reputation beyond repute liamlazenby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Great Missenden
    DS3 model
    DS3 HDi 90bhp DStyle
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Alternative Problem to signal loss.....
    Having HID Kit abolishes radio signal when they're on. Any known reason why? Removed my a couple of years ago because if it.
    Knock Knock?

  5. #5
    Prestige Member notrix is on a distinguished road notrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Norway
    DS3 model
    DS3-R
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gemma.kireia View Post
    Hi all.
    My DS3 2011 appears to have lost its gps signal.
    Sat nav cannot calculate route, either searches for an age or just shows little red triangle without loading any map etc and traffic announcements can't find location.
    Anyone had this or know how to rectify?
    Thanks in advance

    Ps think it's the myway system.
    This exact thing has happened to my 2012 DS3 Racing. Tried a system reset, upgrade the RNEG software and buy new maps.. nothing helps. Did you ever resolve this issue?

  6. #6
    Site Owner WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bolton
    DS3 model
    DSport+ R3 Red Edition
    Posts
    10,382

    Default

    Have you checked the aerial as Biggy suggested to the OP?

    Just so we know all of the things that have been ticked off the list!
    My DS3R3... nearly....
    New? Click HERE for some useful threads.

  7. #7
    Prestige Member notrix is on a distinguished road notrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Norway
    DS3 model
    DS3-R
    Posts
    78

    Default

    Haven't checked the aerial.. have no clue where it's located tho :P
    Guess I would have to get a pair of those ejector pins to be able to pull out the headunit.

  8. #8
    Prestige Member notrix is on a distinguished road notrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Norway
    DS3 model
    DS3-R
    Posts
    78

    Default

    The dealership found that it was a problem with the aerial and gonna replace it under warranty

  9. #9
    Ultra Prestige Member Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky is a splendid one to behold Funky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Preston
    DS3 model
    e-HDi Airdream DSport 115
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Another 10 points to Biggy. The man is on a roll recently
    Roads?.....Where we're going we don't need.......roads!

  10. #10
    Site Owner WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF has a reputation beyond repute WTF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Bolton
    DS3 model
    DSport+ R3 Red Edition
    Posts
    10,382

    Default

    It's almost as if he knows what he's talking about!

    Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
    My DS3R3... nearly....
    New? Click HERE for some useful threads.

  11. #11
    Prestige Member Snake is on a distinguished road Snake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Devon
    DS3 model
    1.6 E-HDI DSTYLE
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I've been having the similar problems where the satnav wasn't picking up the satellites , Went to dealer and picked up an ariel base 40 and now works even better,
    There is an upgraded version of the ariel base comes with 3 connectors my old one had 2 and now i pickup 5 - 7 satellites and a better radio and phone signal.
    I took the old one apart and it had abit of corrosion in it so that might of been the problem.
    IMG_20170623_054213310.jpg

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. THP power loss..
    By ktmracing88 in forum DS3 Technical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-02-2017, 06:15
  2. Signal/Remote wire for sub and amp install !?
    By HANENG18 in forum DS3 In Car Entertainment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2016, 12:11
  3. Signal/remote wire for amp and sub ?!
    By HANENG18 in forum DS Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-01-2016, 19:43
  4. Motorway signal function...
    By helvellyn in forum DS3 Technical
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 05-11-2013, 19:30
  5. Quiet indicator signal alerts?
    By reasonablyright in forum DS3 Technical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2012, 09:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts